Regional support

Our team of friendly and knowledgeable regional managers covers the whole of the UK. Together with the head of regions they support and manage all the regional services, provide local information and advice, and signpost to different services.

They can provide information and advice about any aspect of living with macular disease.

Find the full list of regional managers below, or call the groups admin team on 01264 560 259.

Regional Patient Information Events

Our regional managers bring together patients in their area and local clinic professionals for regular Patient Information Events. During the coronavirus outbreak these are being held online, using Zoom or via teleconference – but they still give you the chance to put your questions to a clinician, ECLO, nurse or ROVI.

That might include:

  • What can I do to prepare for my injection?
  • Should I be taking supplements to slow my age-related macular degeneration?
  • Will stem cell therapy repair my vision?
  • How will clinics keep me safe during the coronavirus pandemic?
  • What local support is available to help me adapt to my sight loss?

Upcoming Patient Information Events

Northern Ireland – 26 March

Hear about the latest research and studies at Queens University Belfast, find out about the macular clinic at Mater Hospital, and get services information from Diabetes UK and the Macular Society.

To register for this event on Zoom, please contact Karen Toogood on 028 91466305 or email karen.t@macularsociety.org 

England South West – 26 March

Optometrist and keen supporter of the Macular Society, Amar Shah will talk about Dry AMD and looking after your sight during the pandemic and how to access local low vision services in the Bristol area. Amar will be able to ask pre-posed questions and give general advice.

For more information, please contact Judy Pride, Regional Manager for the South West 
Email judy.pride@macularsociety.org  or phone 07947 373244

England South East – 28 April

Consultant Ophthalmologist, clinical lead for Age Related Macular Degeneration (AMD) and his team from The Royal Sussex will deliver this session – details to follow. Contact Stella Black on 01306 644908 or email stella.black@macularsociety.org
to register your interest.

Northern Ireland – 9 October

Wales – 15 October

The team

Maria Storesund – Head of Regions
maria.storesund@macularsociety.org
Tel: 07884 742 517

England

Stella Black – Senior Regional Manager for the South 
stella.black@macularsociety.org  
Tel: 07494 467 980

Amanda Read – Senior Regional Manager for the North 
amanda.read@macularsociety.org
Tel: 07432 700 487

Jo Reader – Regional Manager for Yorkshire and North East Lincolnshire 
joanne.reader@macularsociety.org
Tel: 07376 398 916

Judy Pride– Regional Manager for the South West 
judy.pride@macularsociety.org  
Tel: 07947 373244

Dianne Nicola – Regional Manager for the London area 
dianne.nicola@macularsociety.org
Tel: 07824 330 951

Wales

    Adele Francis – Senior Regional Manager for Wales 
    adele.francis@macularsociety.org
    Tel: 07494 468 007

    Marian Williams – Regional Manager for North Wales 
    marian.williams@macularsociety.org
    Tel: 07495 054 053

    Scotland

      Dr Hazel McFarlane – Senior Regional Manager for Scotland 
      hazel.mcfarlane@macularsociety.org

      Tel: 07586 168 803

      Laura Gray – Regional Manager for North East Scotland 
      laura.gray@macularsociety.org
      Tel: 07948 352 967

      Northern Ireland

        Karen Toogood – Senior Regional Manager for Northern Ireland 
        karen.t@macularsociety.org
        Tel: 07852 885 925

        Dr Emma Baxter – Regional Manager for the Western and Southern Health and Social Care Trusts Northern Ireland
        emma.baxter@macularsociety.org
        Tel: 07879 529 267

        Groups Admin team - based in our Head Office in Andover, Hampshire

          Angela Jackson – Office & Regional Administration Manager 
          angela.j@macularsociety.org
          Tel: 01264 321 986

          Charlotte Fogerty - Regional Administrator
          Melinda Boardman – Regional Administrator
          Olivia Gray - Regional Administrator
          Tel: 01264 560 259